Recently, we are witnessing the unification and confluence of the physics of the glass/jamming transitions with other nonequilibrium phenomena. The goal of this workshop is to discuss recent developments on a broad range of topics related to the glass and jamming transitions, which include the turbulence, directed percolation, frictions, nonlinear rheology, superconductors, spin glasses, and the Bose-Einstein condensates.

Dates and Place

The workshop will be held at Nakanoshima center of Osaka University, located in the center of Osaka city, from March 21st (Tue) to 23rd (Thu), 2017.

We plan to start the workshop at 9:50 March 21st (Tue) and finish at 16:30 (Thu).

Invited Speakers

Olivier Dauchot (ESPCI, Paris)

Rajesh Ganapathy (Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research)

Yilong Han (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

Takahiro Hatano (Tokyo University)

Smarajit Karmakar(TIFR Centre for Interdisciplinary Sciences)

Atsutaka Maeda (Tokyo University)

Satoshi Okuma (Tokyo Institue of Technology)

Srikanth Sastry (Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research)

Yoshikazu Tabata (Kyoto University)

Kazumasa Takeuchi (Tokyo Institue of Technology)

Hajime Tanaka (Tokyo University)

Makoto Tsubota (Osaka City University)

Ning Xu (University of Science and Technology of China)

Jie Zhang (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)

Important dates

December 12th, 2016: On-line registration/abstract-submission starts.

February 1st, 2017: On-line registration/abstracts-submission closes.

(The on-line registration for participation-only is possible until March 14th.)

March 21st-23rd, 2017: The workshop


Please make registrations by Feb 1st (2017) through the menu "Registration". Registration fee is free. (The on-line registration for participation-only is possible until March 14th.)


Banquet will be held at "Salon de l'Amical" (9F, Nakanoshima center) on 22nd following the scientific session of the day. Banquet fee is 5000 yen/person (3000 yen/person for students).

Organizing Comittee

Hajime Yoshino (Osaka Univ.) : Chair

Kunimasa Miyazaki (Nagoya Univ.)

Kang Kim (Osaka Univ.)

Atsushi Ikeda (Tokyo Univ.)

Takeshi Kawasaki (Nagoya Univ.)


E-mail: glass2017osaka at cp.cmc.osaka-u.ac.jp


「時空階層性の物理学:単純液体からソフトマターまで」 Grant-in-Aid for Specially Promoted Research, No. 25000002

Synergy of Fluctuation and Structure : Quest for Universal Laws in Non-Equilibrium Systems 2013-2017 Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research on Innovative Areas, MEXT, Japan

Cybermedia Center, Osaka University

Designed by CSS.Design Sample